WHEREAS, a quality education is one of the significant foundations for the continuing success of our state, our country, and our society at large; and in the Town of Paradise Valley we strive for the betterment of all of our citizens through an increased focus on education and sharing; and

WHEREAS, through providing the possibility of an excellent education for all, especially children, with which to gain knowledge through rigorous study and build character by emphasizing the cultivation of universal moral and ethical value, we can create hope for a brighter, kinder and more united and prosperous future in the lives of so many; and

WHEREAS, one of the leading global advocates for the advancement of education, the Lubavitcher Rebbe, Rabbi Menachem Schneerson, of righteous memory, stressed the importance of moral and ethical education as the bedrock of humanity and the hallmark of a healthy society, and strongly urged that education be reinforced by the inculcation of strong moral values; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of the Rebbe's outstanding and lasting contributions toward improvements in world education, morality, and acts of charity, he was awarded the Congressional Gold Medal, and the United States Congress has established his birthdate as a national day to raise awareness and strengthen the education of our children; and WHEREAS, for more than forty years the President of the United States has recognized and honored the Rebbe's vision each year on that day by proclaiming it "Education & Sharing Day USA"; and

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Jerry Bien-Willner, Mayor of the Town of Paradise Valley, do hereby proclaim April 12, 2022 as

Education and Sharing Day

with the hope that we can nurture the unity of diverse peoples through encouraging increased acts of goodness and kindness, imbued with awareness that even a single positive act of an individual can make a major impact in this world.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand and caused to be affixed the seal of the Town of Paradise Valley this 12 day of April, 2022.

Jerry Bien-Willner, Mayor